Poppies!

Poppies are one of my favorite flowers.  It’s extraordinary when you come upon a field of poppies in the median of the highway.  I always want to stop and sit at the edge of the gently stirring red expanse.  It’s like the flowers are slowly inhaling and exhaling.  Which, I guess they are in a way.

I mixed red and neon orange to come up with a living, vivid red for these invites.  I love the result.

And thank you notes, too!

I did these with black lines, but I also made some with brown.

What I love about screen printing is that the “imperfect” prints are sometimes more beautiful than the “perfect” prints.

This print lined up as well as can be expect.  And I think it’s lovely.

This print was a little off, and I can’t take my eyes off of it!

3 Comments

Filed under Cards, Invitations, Thank You Notes

3 responses to “Poppies!

  1. Christine Fuchs

    I love this Mik!
    Especially the the imperfect ones– and especially the ones on the brown paper.

  2. ahhhhhhhh i love sara’s invitations!!!

  3. Mama Fox

    The poppy invitations for Sara’s wedding are indeed beautiful. That is a striking red.

    Your poppies bring fond memories of red poppies scattered in the wheat fields of St. Paul-de-Varce, France–a village nestled on flat land ringed by mountains, a half-hour south of Grenoble.

Leave a Reply

