The Folio Society

Turns out, our internet provider is crazy. Our internet is down so I’m sitting in a coffee shop for wireless, not that we didn’t try to fix the internet. Yesterday customer service sent us to an address that is in fact a drugstore to “switch out” our modem because it wasn’t “sending a signal.”  Which is ridiculous, because, A. why would they just give us a new modem if ours wasn’t working? and B. I’d bet my husband’s beta fish George that the problem isn’t lack of a signal, because C. Last time this happened they’d accidentally sent someone to our house to turn off our internet. Why? Who knows. They were bored.

All this concludes (hopefully) with a guy coming to our house this afternoon, sometime between 1:30 and 4:30. I guess I’ll get some good cleaning time in this afternoon.

However, I am not here today to talk about the my internet woes, I’m here to share the Folio Society with you.

The Folio Society publishes gorgeous books.  They publish familiar titles with elegant covers and fantastic illustrations.  A book lovers fantasy come true- lovely paper, bookish smell, heavy in your hands, gilt bindings, shiny colorful pictures.  I can’t wait to get my hands on some.  Here are some of my favorites, click on the link to see the illustrations:

Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy illustrated by Jonathan Burton


Kenneth Graham’s Wind in the Willows illustrated by Charles Van Sandwyk

Franz Kafka’s  Metamorphosis illustrated by Michael Hofmann

CS Lewis’s The Screwtape Letters illustrated by Bill Papas

William Golding’s Lord of the Flies illustrated by Sam Weber

JRR Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings illstrated by  Ingahild Grathmer and Eric Fraser

Rudyard Kipling’s Just So Stories, with his own illustrations

Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden illustrated by Charles Robinson

Frank L Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz illustrated by Sara Ogilvie

I picture myself surrounded by wooden bookshelves full of gorgeous books all arranged alphabetically by author, complete with one of those sliding ladders to whiz me from A (Austin) to B (Baum).  Swoon.

 

And because this nearly exactly mimicked my conversation on the phone with the customer service rep (“Ok ma’am, unhook the modem for twenty seconds, then rehook.  Did that work?”  “No.”), here is a clip from the British Comedy, The IT Crowd.  An awesome show, by the way.  We just got the 4th season on DVD and its hilarious.


1 Comment

Filed under Books, Paper Goods

One response to “The Folio Society

  1. M Larson

    “Led go! You’re hurtig me!” said the Elephant’s Child! :o))

Leave a Reply

